Multi-currency testing in MT5

General discussion about the Tickstory Lite software package.

Multi-currency testing in MT5

Postby djroj2001 » Thu Oct 10, 2019 1:03 pm

Hi,

I read your guide about how to download tick data from tickstory to MT5 and backtest, which involves creating a custom symbol.

But what happens if I want to test an EA that trades multiple currencies? This EA will refer in the code the symbols that it wants to trade, but it will not select the Tickstory custom symbols because they have different names.

Is there a way to get around this? I am talking about existing commercial EA's, so the code cannot be changed to reference the tickstory custom symbols.

Thanks
djroj2001
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 10:25 pm

Re: Multi-currency testing in MT5

Postby tickstory » Thu Oct 10, 2019 10:57 pm

Hi Djroj2001,

That's a good question and might be one more suited to Metaquotes or your EA vendor. If the queries in your EA are hard-programmed into the code (eg. GetPrice("EURUSD")), then there is really no option we know of except for asking the EA vendor to make it configurable in some way. This will allow you to specify the symbol names - or pre/suffixes such as "tickstory_" which will automatically attempt to query GetPrice("tickstory_EURUSD") - so it will use your custom symbols.

Hope this helps.
tickstory
 
Posts: 3682
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 12:27 am

Re: Multi-currency testing in MT5

Postby djroj2001 » Fri Oct 11, 2019 7:54 am

ok thanks for clarifying.
djroj2001
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 10:25 pm


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 8 guests