Tickstory & MT5 Support

General discussion about the Tickstory Lite software package.

Re: Tickstory & MT5 Support

Postby tickstory » Fri Sep 08, 2017 6:53 am

Hi Jeff,

Looking at your link, it gives the impression that the Strategy Tester will use 'real' ticks if they are available. This seems to suggest that if you import the M1 and tick data into MT5 (as described above) then it will use this data in the strategy test. Is there something you have read that says that imported 'real' ticks are not used in this way?

Thanks.
tickstory
 
Posts: 3681
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 12:27 am

Re: Tickstory & MT5 Support

Postby jeff » Fri Sep 08, 2017 11:34 am

You are correct, mt5 allows for testing on every tick based on real ticks. I am starting with m1 for development purposes and will then look at tick testing if suitable. I hope others try this as well as I am eager to get feedback from others.
jeff
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2013 2:26 pm

Re: Tickstory & MT5 Support

Postby sbubuz » Wed Mar 28, 2018 7:51 pm

I'm trying to use tickstory data in MetaTrader 5. I followed your tutorials and everything seems fine.

The problem is when I try to run the Strategy tester!

I imported EUR/USD data in a new Symbol named EURUSD_DUKAS

When I launch the strategy tester MetaTrader search a symbol named USD/EUR (not EUR/USD) to calculate margin/profit, and this symbol doesn't exists so it take USDEUR_BASKET, and nothing works!

I think that it should use EUR/USD data that I just imported to do that calculation!

Someone else has this problem? I get a lot of: 2018.03.27 21:55:23.816 Core 1 2018.03.02 08:59:58 no prices for symbol USDEUR_BASKET (2018.03.01 22:49:42 0.00000, 0.00000) Errors
sbubuz
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2018 7:43 pm

Re: Tickstory & MT5 Support

Postby imbissbronko » Sun Apr 01, 2018 7:41 pm

shoul i have an mt5 installation without connect to an server?
imbissbronko
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2018 3:37 pm

Re: Tickstory & MT5 Support

Postby imbissbronko » Mon Apr 02, 2018 7:32 pm

I have created Custom symbol as in Tutorial. Now if i want to start backtesting in my journal it looks like that

Code: Select all
2018.04.02 21:28:07.298   Core 1   EURUSD_Test: history for 2003 year synchronized
2018.04.02 21:28:07.298   Core 1   EURUSD_Test: history for 2004 year synchronized
2018.04.02 21:28:07.298   Core 1   EURUSD_Test: history for 2005 year synchronized
2018.04.02 21:28:07.298   Core 1   EURUSD_Test: history for 2006 year synchronized
2018.04.02 21:28:07.298   Core 1   EURUSD_Test: history for 2007 year synchronized
2018.04.02 21:28:07.298   Core 1   EURUSD_Test: history for 2008 year synchronized
2018.04.02 21:28:07.298   Core 1   EURUSD_Test: history for 2009 year synchronized
2018.04.02 21:28:07.298   Core 1   EURUSD_Test: history for 2010 year synchronized
2018.04.02 21:28:07.298   Core 1   EURUSD_Test: history for 2011 year synchronized
2018.04.02 21:28:07.298   Core 1   EURUSD_Test: history for 2012 year synchronized
2018.04.02 21:28:07.298   Core 1   EURUSD_Test: history for 2013 year synchronized
2018.04.02 21:28:07.298   Core 1   EURUSD_Test: history for 2014 year synchronized
2018.04.02 21:28:07.298   Core 1   EURUSD_Test: history for 2015 year synchronized


What did it means? Did i use now my imported data or have mt5 now demolished my data with that synchronisations
imbissbronko
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2018 3:37 pm

Re: Tickstory & MT5 Support

Postby tickstory » Tue Apr 03, 2018 2:35 am

Hi Imbissbronko,

If the import from Tickstory into MT5 has worked correctly, you may need to consult the MT5 forums for further assistance as they will be more familiar with the products' status messages.

Thanks.
tickstory
 
Posts: 3681
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 12:27 am

Re: Tickstory & MT5 Support

Postby imbissbronko » Fri Apr 06, 2018 7:25 pm

When i add the data to custom symbol then i dont have any Spread. How did you manage that there is calculated with spread?
imbissbronko
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2018 3:37 pm

Re: Tickstory & MT5 Support

Postby imbissbronko » Fri Apr 06, 2018 8:56 pm

I did it 10 times now like on tutorial and i get that error.

2018.04.06 22:54:35.272 Tester quality of analyzed history is 0% (3081665 minute bars, tick volume errors 3081665, spread errors 3081665)


what to do to get in mt5 the dukascopy data
imbissbronko
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2018 3:37 pm

Re: Tickstory & MT5 Support

Postby tickstory » Sat Apr 07, 2018 12:17 pm

Hi Imbissbronko,

We've updated the export guide, so please check it again. There seems to be some changes to the MT5 formatting guide from the last we checked.
Using the formats provided we successfully imported into the latest version of MT5, however this functionality is still pretty new to us so we're not familiar with specific MT5 error messages. What we can tell you is that a preliminary back-test with the custom symbol & imported data appeared to run.

Note that there is currently no field in the File Export function that allows you to export a bar's "spread" (since technically there is no such thing). I assume this value is just some sort of average or maximum of the spread within that bar. Either way, we've added an item to investigate further. For the moment however, we have just use a fixed spread which you can change to whatever you need. I would hope that the Strategy Tester would be smart enough to use the real spread anyway if you have imported ticks.

Hope this helps.
tickstory
 
Posts: 3681
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 12:27 am

Re: Tickstory & MT5 Support

Postby imbissbronko » Sat Apr 07, 2018 6:05 pm

Yes now it is working with 100% quality. Please add in your tutorial that users have to change
Code: Select all
Every tick based on real ticks
in strategy tester otherwise get problems and 0%. Now i hope it will work on dax as well as eurusd
imbissbronko
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2018 3:37 pm

PreviousNext

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 85 guests