Embed spread for backtest

General discussion about the Tickstory Lite software package.
Post Reply
Sunnybeach
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2015 12:48 am

Embed spread for backtest

Post by Sunnybeach »

How to use the Embed spread for backtest?
Can we use Birt's TDS to do that?

tickstory
Posts: 3960
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 12:27 am

Re: Embed spread for backtest

Post by tickstory »

Hi Sunnybeach,

Once you have exported with Tickstory with the "Embed spread" option checked, you will simply need to launch with Birt's TDS. If TDS is installed in the MT4 Installation Folder, Tickstory will automatically use it to launch MT4.
After that, simply back-test as usual and variable spread will automatically be used.

Regards.

Sunnybeach
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2015 12:48 am

Re: Embed spread for backtest

Post by Sunnybeach »

Than you for your answer!
Shall we enable it or not?
003.JPG

tickstory
Posts: 3960
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 12:27 am

Re: Embed spread for backtest

Post by tickstory »

Hi Sunnybeach,

I don't believe this setting will affect your results. TDS should use the embedded variable spread regardless. Of course, if you have any further queries on this, please contact the vendor.

Thanks.

geldwolf
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2016 2:32 pm

Re: Embed spread for backtest

Post by geldwolf »

tickstory wrote:Hi Sunnybeach,

I don't believe this setting will affect your results. TDS should use the embedded variable spread regardless. Of course, if you have any further queries on this, please contact the vendor.

Thanks.
Hi, what must be the input by : Embed spread + extra padding aand what is the function?

Thnaks in advance for the info.

tickstory
Posts: 3960
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 12:27 am

Re: Embed spread for backtest

Post by tickstory »

Hi Geldwolf,

The formula for the embedded spread is simply:

Spread = (tick.Ask - tick.Bid) + padding

Hope this helps.

Post Reply