Backtest always stops on a certain date.

General discussion about the Tickstory Lite software package.

Backtest always stops on a certain date.

Postby daio » Tue Jan 23, 2018 8:02 am

I bought the Tickstory license, after perfectly following the procedure (download the data EURUSD from 27/12/2016 to 04/04/2017), I checked the weight of the memory Tester -> History 1.8 gb (FXT).
I backtest for 3 months (01/01 / 2017-31 / 03/2017) the 99.90% model but it always stops the date of 14/02/2017. I tried to change several times but it always stops on 14/02/2017, why?
I have not installed EA Tickstoryinfo, better to install?
Attachments
1.PNG
daio
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2016 10:22 pm

Re: Backtest always stops on a certain date.

Postby tickstory » Tue Jan 23, 2018 11:43 pm

Hi Daio,

Thank you for the information. Have you tried testing with a simple EA such as "MACD Sample" to see if you get results after the date? If not, just double-check that you are not connected to your broker and that is is overwriting your exported data. You should be able to do this by checking the Historical Data Center and viewing the date range available corresponds to those that you exported.

If this is not the issue, it is possible that your EA is not trading for some reason (such as using an x day moving average and there not being sufficient data?). If you have access to the code, you should be able to debug it by putting regular "print" statements in the code to see at what stage it is stopping.

Hope this helps.
tickstory
 
Posts: 3020
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 12:27 am

Re: Backtest always stops on a certain date.

Postby daio » Wed Jan 24, 2018 10:02 pm

Thanks for the answer, it seems that the problem is solved by trying to download the data in different ways and now works with backtest for a year with model 99.9% (but stramente I memora 13 GB .FXT and works well). Now I would like to know how EA Tickstoryinfo works, I downloaded EA without modifying anything and I did AutoTrading (the smiley face), but I do not understand if it is processing. Then I tried to load the path on MetaTrader info but I can not find mt4config, can you help me?
Attachments
1.PNG
daio
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2016 10:22 pm

Re: Backtest always stops on a certain date.

Postby tickstory » Thu Jan 25, 2018 1:53 am

Hi Daio,

The "mt4config" file will be written to the <MT4 Data Folder>/experts/files directory. If it doesn't exist, please check the "Journal" tab to ensure there are no errors. This article in our FAQ may assist you if you are continuing to have issues:

https://tickstory.com/help/tickstorylit ... infoexpert

Thanks.
tickstory
 
Posts: 3020
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 12:27 am

Re: Backtest always stops on a certain date.

Postby daio » Thu Jan 25, 2018 7:27 am

I followed the path but the mt4config file is not there. The diary does not indicate any errors.
Attachments
Diario.PNG
daio
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2016 10:22 pm

Re: Backtest always stops on a certain date.

Postby tickstory » Thu Jan 25, 2018 11:18 am

Hi Daio,

You'll need to wait for at least 1 tick before the EA is run. Alternatively, if you are not receiving ticks (due to it being a weekend, for example) you can also run the EA in the Strategy Tester. To do this, select EURUSD and the "Open tick" modelling mode and press Start. After completion, the mt4config file should exist in the tester/files directory. (NB. Make sure you change the testing mode back to "Tick" when you are ready to back-test).

Please let us know if there is any further issue.

Thanks.
tickstory
 
Posts: 3020
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 12:27 am

Re: Backtest always stops on a certain date.

Postby daio » Thu Jan 25, 2018 12:36 pm

I deactivated autotrading and I activated a few seconds after the ticks moved but nothing changed, I activated backtest but still can not find mt4config
Attachments
Diario.PNG
daio
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2016 10:22 pm

Re: Backtest always stops on a certain date.

Postby daio » Fri Jan 26, 2018 10:41 am

I tried a tick "allow DDL" it seems and the diary dices that serve a permission but not so what
Attachments
Diario.PNG
daio
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2016 10:22 pm

Re: Backtest always stops on a certain date.

Postby tickstory » Fri Jan 26, 2018 10:37 pm

Hi Daio,

Looks like the EA is running now which is good, however it is giving an error that should be able to be resolved by changing the "Config filename" as described here:

https://tickstory.com/help/tickstorylit ... infoexpert

Once you do this, the m4config file should be created.

Please let us know if you have any further issues.

Thanks.
tickstory
 
Posts: 3020
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 12:27 am

Re: Backtest always stops on a certain date.

Postby daio » Mon Jan 29, 2018 9:04 am

After several attempts I discovered that it was sufficient to remove the POINT!
initially I had configured:
- International Capital Markets Pty Ltd.Server..mt4config
as written by the advisor but then I modified it by leaving "Version" empty and removing a dot after the word "server":
- International Capital Markets Pty Ltd.Server.mt4config.

Can you confirm if I have configured well and with the screenshot?
Attachments
2.PNG
2.PNG (11.18 KiB) Viewed 102 times
1.PNG
1.PNG (10.2 KiB) Viewed 102 times
daio
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2016 10:22 pm

Next

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron