Running Tickstory data for multiple MT4 Installations

General discussion about the Tickstory Lite software package.

Running Tickstory data for multiple MT4 Installations

Postby forthwerk » Tue May 14, 2019 8:49 pm

Hello,

I have two OANDA-Metatrader V.4 (build 1170) instances installed on my Windows 10 computer and one install of Tickstory (V1.9.3). After exporting the required FOREX tickdata through Tickstory, I would like to be able to launch any one of these two Metatrader instances for backtesting. Is that possible without having to change each time the Metatrader directory in Tickstory and re-downloading/exporting all the tick data twice?

Here is the location of my Metatrader installations:

C:\Program Files (x86)\OANDA - MetaTrader-S1\
C:\Program Files (x86)\OANDA - MetaTrader-S2\

Thanks!
forthwerk
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 14, 2019 8:19 pm

Re: Running Tickstory data for multiple MT4 Installations

Postby tickstory » Fri May 17, 2019 11:04 pm

Hi Forthwerk,

You can start one terminal followed by selecting the alternate MT4 configuration in Tickstory's settings and then starting the other.

Thanks.
tickstory
 
Posts: 3670
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 12:27 am

Re: Running Tickstory data for multiple MT4 Installations

Postby porkopops » Wed May 22, 2019 5:44 am

I have exported MT4 data from tickstory to D:\MT4Data and then setup symbolic links from several MT4 installations to point to that data

e.g.
mklink C:\Users\pcoe\AppData\Roaming\MetaQuotes\Terminal\032F47E671647A865A359FED451B7F6A\tester\history D:\MT4data

You will need to rename/delete the 'history' folder first.

This isn't ideal, but if I don't run a backtest on the same pair at the same time using different MT4 installs then I think it should be fine.
porkopops
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 22, 2019 5:35 am


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests