Running Tickstory data for multiple MT4 Installations

General discussion about the Tickstory Lite software package.
Post Reply
forthwerk
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 14, 2019 8:19 pm

Running Tickstory data for multiple MT4 Installations

Post by forthwerk »

Hello,

I have two OANDA-Metatrader V.4 (build 1170) instances installed on my Windows 10 computer and one install of Tickstory (V1.9.3). After exporting the required FOREX tickdata through Tickstory, I would like to be able to launch any one of these two Metatrader instances for backtesting. Is that possible without having to change each time the Metatrader directory in Tickstory and re-downloading/exporting all the tick data twice?

Here is the location of my Metatrader installations:

C:\Program Files (x86)\OANDA - MetaTrader-S1\
C:\Program Files (x86)\OANDA - MetaTrader-S2\

Thanks!

tickstory
Posts: 3871
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 12:27 am

Re: Running Tickstory data for multiple MT4 Installations

Post by tickstory »

Hi Forthwerk,

You can start one terminal followed by selecting the alternate MT4 configuration in Tickstory's settings and then starting the other.

Thanks.

porkopops
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 22, 2019 5:35 am

Re: Running Tickstory data for multiple MT4 Installations

Post by porkopops »

I have exported MT4 data from tickstory to D:\MT4Data and then setup symbolic links from several MT4 installations to point to that data

e.g.
mklink C:\Users\pcoe\AppData\Roaming\MetaQuotes\Terminal\032F47E671647A865A359FED451B7F6A\tester\history D:\MT4data

You will need to rename/delete the 'history' folder first.

This isn't ideal, but if I don't run a backtest on the same pair at the same time using different MT4 installs then I think it should be fine.

Post Reply