Optimization with >4gb TickData

Have some interesting ideas about how to improve the software? Let us know in this section!
Post Reply
max12m3
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat May 28, 2022 8:55 pm

Optimization with >4gb TickData

Post by max12m3 »

Hello there,
Do you see a chance to fix the mt4 optimation with history larger than 4gb?
Please add this feature to the advanced tester.

Have a great weekend :D
Max

tickstory
Posts: 4434
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 12:27 am

Re: Optimization with >4gb TickData

Post by tickstory »

Hi Max,

From what we have seen, users can test beyond these limits however there may be issues depending on your EA and how it utilizes memory, etc. Your best bet is to test with the size of data set that you need and if you encounter any problems (eg. out of memory errors), try test with smaller subsets of data to see if that addresses the issue.

Hope this helps.

max12m3
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat May 28, 2022 8:55 pm

Re: Optimization with >4gb TickData

Post by max12m3 »

Thanks for your reply,
But please test the optimation feature with for example 2008-22 tickdata, on every EA it just runs the first set.

I would like to place a bug bounty in USDT if you fix this mt4 feature.

Have a great day
Max

tickstory
Posts: 4434
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 12:27 am

Re: Optimization with >4gb TickData

Post by tickstory »

Hi Max,

We've just tried a test by exporting EURUSD from 2008-2022 (approx 18GB FXT) and successfully run 2 passes on the Strategy Tester using "MACD Sample" EA. Of course, the point is not to negate what you are saying but it does highlight our usual recommendation to adjust your testing accordingly if there are problems.

Unfortunately given that we don't have access to the MT4 Strategy Tester code, we can't really offer any solutions to fix it but we believe it may be due to "excessive" resource use.

The best way forward from this point-of-view (and from an over-optimization standpoint) is to ensure your datasets are smaller.

Hope this helps.

max12m3
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat May 28, 2022 8:55 pm

Re: Optimization with >4gb TickData

Post by max12m3 »

Thank you,
The EA was the issue.

Post Reply